Article Image
Courtesy: Charlie Taylor/Sports Communications
Abigail Tere-Apisah was named the Sun Belt's Player of the Year.

Stephenson, Tere-Apisah Highlight Sun Belt Awards

Courtesy: Cassie Folck/Sports Communications
Release: April 17, 2014
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Share |

NEW ORLEANS, La. – The Sun Belt Conference handed out two of its highest awards to interim head coach Robin Stephenson and senior Abigail Tere-Apisah Thursday night. Stephenson was named the women’s Head Coach of the Year and Tere-Apisah was named the women’s Player of the Year.

Tere-Apisah, a native of Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea, finished the season with a national singles ranking of No. 20. The senior owns 11 wins over nationally-ranked singles opponents this season and went 15-2 overall in singles play at the No. 1 spot in the Georgia State lineup. Tere-Apisah earned Sun Belt Women’s Tennis Athlete of the Week honors four times this season, the most of any student-athlete on the men’s or women’s side. In doubles, Tere-Apisah teams with junior Masa Grgan to form the No. 20-ranked doubles tandem in the nation. The duo has defeated five nationally-ranked doubles teams this season and owns a 14-2 overall record during dual-match play.

Tere-Apisah and Grgan were named to the Sun Belt All-Conference Doubles First Team. Joining them are freshman Tarani Kamoe and Marcia Tere-Apisah, who own a 10-7 record and defeated the No. 2 doubles team in the country in the fall. The freshman pair were ranked No. 89 on April 8. On the men’s side, the pair of Robert Schulze and Sofiane Chevallier were also named to the Sun Belt All-Conference Doubles First Team. The pair is 9-7 at No. 1 and No. 2 doubles.

Freshman Jannis Koeke earned a spot on the Sun Belt All-Conference Singles First Team after going 13-9 in his first year. Abigail Tere-Apisah was named to the Sun Belt All-Conference Singles First Team, while sophomore Linn Timmermann was named to the Sun Belt All-Conference Singles Second Team.

The top-seeded Georgia State women’s tennis team will begin its hunt for a Sun Belt Conference Championship Friday morning at 8 a.m. CT. The Panthers will face eighth-ranked UL Lafayette in their first match of the tournament. The No. 3-seed Georgia State men’s tennis team will take on the sixth-seeded Western Kentucky at 3 p.m. CT. Both matches will take place at the City Park/Pepsi Tennis Center in New Orleans.

For more information on the 2014 Sun Belt Conference Tennis Championships, visit the championship central page on Live scoring will be available for all matches of the tournaments. Admission is free for all matches at the City Park Tennis Center.


Player of the Year

Daniel Leitner (South Alabama)

Coach of the Year

Mark Jeffrey (UL Lafayette)

Sun Belt All-Conference Singles First Team

Jannis Koeke (Georgia State)

Rick De Groot (UL Lafayette)

Daniel Leitner (South Alabama)

Tuki Jacobs (South Alabama)

Carlos Arbiza (UT Arlington)

Gabriel Sciacca Dias (Troy)

Sun Belt All-Conference Doubles First Team

Robert Schulze/Sofiane Chevallier (Georgia State)

Rick De Groot/Jake Wynan (UL Lafayette)

Carlos Arbiza/Javier Perez (UT Arlington)

Sun Belt All-Conference Singles Second Team

Hunter Johnson (UL Lafayette)

Edgar Lopez (UL Lafayette)

Jake Wynan (UL Lafayette)

Shayann Vaezzadeh (South Alabama)

Daniel Armengol (UT Arlington)

Daniel Bustamante (Troy)

Sun Belt All-Conference Doubles Second Team

Damian Farinola/Edgar Lopez (UL Lafayette)

Manuel Belda/Gerhard Gruindelingh (South Alabama)

Austin Robles/Daniel Armengol (UT Arlington)


Player of the Year

Abigail Tere-Apisah (Georgia State)

Coach of the Year

Robin Stephenson (Georgia State)

Sun Belt All-Conference Singles First Team

Abigail Tere-Apisah (Georgia State)

Medy Blankvoort (UL Monroe)

Laura Valkova (South Alabama)

Elizabeth Thoms (UT Arlington)

Jessica Kahts (Texas State)

Trang Huynh (Troy)

Sun Belt All-Conference Doubles First Team

Abigail Tere-Apisah/Masa Grgan (Georgia State)

Marcia Tere-Apisah/Tarani Kamoe (Georgia State)

Trang Huynh/Anja Cosovic (Troy)

Sun Belt All-Conference Singles Second Team

Tamara Slijepcevic (Arkansas State)

Linn Timmermann (Georgia State)

Petra Horakova (UL Monroe)

Monica Midden (South Alabama)

Angeles de los Rios (UT Arlington)

Anja Cosovic (Troy)

Sun Belt All-Conference Doubles Second Team

Monica Mitty/Laura Valkova (South Alabama)

Emily Newton/Michaela Meszarosova (South Alabama)

Jessica Kahts/Ana Laura Gutierrez (Texas State)

Stay Connected to GSU Athletics

Member Login

Store Ad
Auction Ad
Men's basketball ticket deposits 2014-15
Football Season Tickets and Zoo Atlanta
Uploaded Ad