ATLANTA -- The Georgia State football team will open its first spring practice under new head coach Shawn Elliott on Monday, March 20.

The Panthers' Blue-White Spring Game is scheduled for Saturday, April 15, at a time and location to be announced.

Elliott and his staff have been working with the current players in the winter conditioning program since Feb. 7. That phase continues through March 9, followed by Georgia State's spring break the week of March 13.

"Right now, during winter conditioning, we have a chance to see our guys in different drills and evaluate the talent we have so we can put them in position to be successful during spring practice," Elliott said.

"More than anything, we are looking for great effort and intensity and mental toughness, which is what we want to be know for around here," he added.

The Panthers return 17 starters, including nine on offense, seven on defense and one specialist. Top returnees on offense include receivers Penny Hart, who suffered a season-ending injury in 2016, and Todd Boyd, running back-receiver Glenn Smith and guard Alex Stoehr. Leading the defense are the cornerback tandem of Chandon Sullivan and Jerome Smith, along with outside linebacker Michael Shaw and defensive end Mackendy Cheridor.

All spring practice sessions except the Spring Game will take place at the GSU Practice Complex. The complete schedule is below.

2017 SPRING PRACTICE DATES (Subject to change)
Monday, March 20 (morning)
Tuesday, March 21 (morning)
Thursday, March 23 (morning)
Saturday, March 25 (TBA)
Monday, March 27 (morning)
Tuesday, March 28 (morning)
Thursday, March 30 (morning)
Friday, March 31 (morning)
Monday, April 3 (morning)
Wednesday, April 5 (morning)
Friday, April 7 (morning)
Monday, April 10 (morning)
Wednesday, April 12 (morning)
Friday, April 14 (morning)
Saturday, April 15, SPRING GAME, Time & Location TBA