NEW YORK – Georgia State football standout Chandon Sullivan was honored Tuesday at the 60th National Football Foundation (NFF) Annual Awards Dinner as one of 13 national finalists for the the 2017 William V. Campbell Trophy® presented by Fidelity Investments®.

The trophy recognizes the absolute best football scholar-athlete in the nation. The 13 finalists were selected from a nationwide pool of 181 exceptional semifinalists from among all NCAA divisions and the NAIA. Each finalist receives an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship as a member of the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class, presented by Fidelity Investments.

At the event, Virginia linebacker Micah Kiser was named the winner of the 2017 William V. Campbell Trophy®, presented by Fidelity Investments®.

Sullivan, the cornerback from Winder, Ga., is a senior journalism major and a three-time CoSIDA Academic All-District selection with a 3.84 grade point average. He is a two-time All-Sun Belt Conference selection and the Panthers' career leader in interceptions and passes defended while ranking in the top five in career tackles. He has helped Georgia State's eight-year-old football program to two bowl appearances in the last three seasons, including this year's AutoNation Cure Bowl, scheduled for Dec. 16 vs. Western Kentucky in Orlando, Fla.

Sullivan and the other finalists shared the stage with the star-studded class that was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. The 2017 class was introduced by NFF Board Member Archie Griffin, aHall of Fame running back from Ohio State. Members of the class included Bob Crable (Notre Dame), Marshall Faulk (San Diego State), Kirk Gibson (Michigan State), Matt Leinart (Southern California), Peyton Manning (Tennessee), Bob McKay (Texas), Dat Nguyen (Texas A&M), Adrian Peterson (Georgia Southern), Mike Ruth (Boston College), Brian Urlacher (New Mexico) and coaches Danny Ford (Clemson, Arkansas), Larry Kehres (Mount Union [Ohio]) and Steve Spurrier (Duke, Florida, South Carolina). NFF Chairman and Hall of Fame inductee Archie Manning (Mississippi) conducted the Official Hall of Fame Ring Ceremony.

The 2017 NFF Campbell Trophy® Finalists 

Presented by Fidelity Investments

Sam Benger, RB, Carnegie Mellon (Pa.), 3.67, Business Administration
Braxton Berrios, WR, Miami (Fla.), 3.96, Finance & Entrepreneurship
Mason Hampton, C, Boise State, 3.97, Accounting
Justin Jackson, RB, Northwestern, 3.23, Economics
Micah Kiser, LB, Virginia, 3.42, Foreign Affairs
Justin Lea, OL, Jacksonville State, 3.92, Emergency MGMT & Geography
Brad Lundblade, C, Oklahoma State, 3.88, Marketing
Marcus Martin, DE, Slippery Rock (Pa.), 3.56, Safety Management
Chandon Sullivan, CB, Georgia State, 3.84, Journalism
Blaise Taylor, CB, Arkansas State, 3.84, Business Administration
Marlon Walls, S, Stephen F. Austin, 4.00, Engineering Physics
Chris Weber, LB, Nebraska, 3.96, Nutrition Science
Jake Wieneke, WR, South Dakota State, 3.63, Physical/Teacher Education