Georgia State head football coach Bill Curry officially received the President Gerald R. Ford Legends Center Award in ceremonies Saturday night in Lincoln, Neb.

Susan Ford Bales, daughter of the late president, presented the award to Curry before a capacity crowd at the Rococo Theater.

“The Ford family is so honored to present this award to Bill Curry. I know my father would be proud to see a man such as Bill receive this award,” Bales said.

Curry received his award as part of the annual Rimington Trophy banquet. The Rimington Trophy, which annually honors the nation's top collegiate center, was presented to A.Q. Shipley of Penn State.

Curry, in his first year as Georgia State's head coach and also serving as the school's interim athletics director, played center at Georgia Tech and then for 10 years in the National Football League for the Green Bay Packers (1965-66), Baltimore Colts (1967-72), Houston Oilers (1973) and Los Angeles Rams (1974). He participated in three Super Bowls and two Pro Bowls, and he snapped the ball to legendary quarterbacks Bart Starr and Johnny Unitas.

About the President Gerald R. Ford Legends Center Award:
The inaugural "Legends Center Award" was presented to and named after President Gerald R. Ford who played Center at the University of Michigan. Prior to serving as the 38th President of the United States, Ford was an offensive standout for the Wolverines and was a member of the 1932 and 1933 National Championship teams, both of which went undefeated. In 1934, Ford was named the Wolverines' MVP and later starred in San Francisco's East-West Shrine Game and the Chicago Tribune College All- Star Game.

The Award is in its fourth year of recognizing individuals who have played the Center position at either the collegiate or professional
level; have made extraordinary contributions to his team during his football career; or have proven to be exemplary citizens and
contributors to the football and/or business communities, or through their own philanthropic endeavors. Past recipients include President
Gerald R. Ford (2005), Jim Otto (2006), and Alex Kroll (2007).