ATLANTA-After leading the Panthers to the Sun Belt Conference Regular Season Championship on Saturday, junior D’Marcus Simonds was named to the All-Sun Belt First Team on Monday afternoon by the conference office.


After earning Sun Belt Player of the Year honors last year, Simonds continued to add his name to the Georgia State record books by averaging 18.9 points, 4.9 rebounds, and 3.7 assists per game this year. The junior shot 42.1 percent from the floor while knocking down a career-high 55 3-pointers.


It marks the second-straight year Simonds has earned All-Sun Belt First Team honors. He was also the league’s freshman of the year two seasons ago.


He enters the postseason ranked No. 5 in the conference in scoring, fourth in minutes played, sixth in assists, ninth in steals, 12th in assist/turnover ratio, 13th in defensive rebounds, 14th in field goal percentage, and 20th in rebounding.


Despite being just a junior, Simonds has made more field goals than any other player in program history and is second in career points scored.


“It is great to see D’Marcus earn all-conference honors again,” head coach Ron Hunter said. “He has been a special member of our program for three years. He joins a special group of players who have earned all-conference first team honors more than once.”


Simonds joins R.J. Hunter, Ryan Harrow, Shernard Long, and Nate Williams as the only Panthers to earn multiple first-team all-conference selections.


Georgia State will open the Sun Belt tournament on Saturday as the No. 1 seed having earned a triple-bye into the semifinals. The Panthers will play at 4 p.m. ET against the winner of Game 5. All games of the tournament will be carried by ESPN+. The championship game will tip at 2 p.m. on Selection Sunday and will be televised nationally on ESPN2.




All-Sun Belt First Team
Tookie Brown, Georgia Southern (Sr., G, Madison, Ga.)

D’Marcus Simonds, Georgia State (Jr., G, Gainesville, Ga.)

JaKeenan Gant, Louisiana (Sr., F, Springfield, Ga.)

Daishon Smith, ULM (Sr., G, Jacksonville, Fla.)

Nijal Pearson, Texas State (Jr., G, Beaumont, Texas)


All-Sun Belt Second Team
Ronshad Shabazz, Appalachian State (Sr., G, Raleigh, N.C.)

Rayjon Tucker, Little Rock (Jr., G, Charlotte, N.C.)

Ty Cockfield II, Arkansas State (Sr., G, Gainesville, Ga.)

Zac Cuthbertson, Coastal Carolina (Sr., F, New Bern, N.C.)

Josh Ajayi, South Alabama (Jr., F, El Monte, Calif.)


All-Sun Belt Third Team
Quan Jackson, Georgia Southern (So., G, Tallahassee, Fla.)

Michael Ertel, ULM (So., G, Indianapolis, Ind.)

Trhae Mitchell, South Alabama (Jr., F, Austell, Ga.)

Brian Warren, UTA (Jr., G, Indianapolis, Ind.)

Tre'Larenz Nottingham, Texas State (Sr., G, Moreno Valley, Calif.)


Sun Belt Player of the Year

Tookie Brown, Georgia Southern (Sr., G, Madison, Ga.)


Sun Belt Defensive Player of the Year

JaKeenan Gant, Louisiana (Sr., F, Springfield, Ga.)


Sun Belt Freshman of the Year

DeVante Jones, Coastal Carolina (Fr., G, New Orleans, La.)


Sun Belt Newcomer of the Year

Daishon Smith, ULM (Sr., G, Jacksonville, Fla.)


Sun Belt Joe Gottfried Coach of the Year

Chris Ogden, UTA