ATLANTA - The Georgia State women’s golf team will kick off its season in Louisville, Ky., at the Cardinal Cup.

The tournament, which runs Sept. 17 and 18, will start off the fall season. Sunday will be a practice round for the team to get adjusted to the course before teeing off Monday morning. The tournament is hosted by Louisville University.

Leading the Panthers in the No. 1 spot will be sophomore Lauren Court, who was named the CAA Rookie of the Year after her freshman season in 2011. She competed in all 10 of Georgia State’s tournaments and averaged 78.73, third on the team behind then-seniors Charlotte Lorentzen and Charlotte Guilleux.

In the No. 2 position is junior Melissa Siviter, who will make her first start as a Panther. For two years she played at Belmont Abbey and was named the 2010 Conference Carolinas Freshman of the Year. She garnered five top ten finishes during her freshman season and seven as a sophomore.

At the No. 3 position, Maria Palacios will also make her first start as Panther at the Cardinal Cup. Palacios comes from Western Texas College where she played from 2010-12. In 2011 she was ranked fourth in the National Junior College rankings.

Making her first ever collegiate start will be freshman Julie Lied from Bergen, Norway, in the No. 4 spot. Rounding out the fifth spot for the Georgia State team is junior Laura Sanchez. The Bogota, Columbia, native played in all 10 of Georgia State’s tournaments last year.

“We are looking forward to beginning our season at the Cardinal Cup, as this team definitely has a great deal of talent,” coach Cathy Mant said. “It will be interesting to see how everyone works together in the first event. We are going back to a venue where we have performed well in the past and has been friendly to Georgia State golf.”

Georgia State has competed in the Louisville Cardinal Cup twice, in 2002 and 2003. In 2002 the Panthers placed sixth and in 2003 they finished fifth.

The other teams competing in the tournament are University of Tennessee-Chattanooga, East Tennessee State, University of North Carolina-Wilmington, Illinois State University, James Madison University, University of Akron, University of Cincinnati, University of Maryland, University of Missouri, Bradley University, University of North Carolina-Greensboro, Charleston Southern and Rollins College.

Georgia State will tee off at 8:40 both Monday and Tuesday morning. Results will be posted on at the end of each day.