ATLANTA- The Georgia State men’s soccer team earned 10 Sun Belt Conference post-season honors, the league announced Wednesday. Sophomore Hannes Burmeister led the team with three awards.

Burmeister earned both Offensive Player of the Year and Player of the Year following a stellar season. The sophomore leads the team in goals with 11, scoring two back-to-back hat tricks early in the season. He also leads the team in points with 25, and is tied for second in game-winning goals with two.

Junior Nick Hague earned Newcomer of the Year after transferring from Clayton State in the off-season. Hague has started in every game for the Panthers, playing nearly every minute, and scored his first goal with GSU in the 4-2 win over USC-Upstate.

Freshman Kyle Clinton was named Co-Freshman of the Year, sharing the award with Hamish Ritchie of Hartwick. Clinton is tied for fourth on the team in goals with three, all of which were game-winners.

GSU had four student-athletes named to the All-Sun Belt First Team, with Burmeister, Max Hemmings, Clinton and Yannic Horn all being tabbed to the list. For the All-Sun Belt Second Team, Frank Rosenwald and Liam Fitzsimmons were honored.

"It's always nice for our players to be recognized on All-Conference teams because it is the culmination of a lot of hard work," said head coach Brett Surrency. "We're thankful for the conference coaches in honoring our guys and I know that each will stay grounded and determined to keep continuing their development over the coming years."    

Georgia State opens Sun Belt Championship play Thursday at 6:30 p.m. in Panthersville. The No. 3 seed Panthers will face No. 6 seed Howard in the opening round of the tournament.