ATLANTA- The Georgia State men’s soccer team earned eight post-season honors, with seven Panthers earning All-Conference recognition, the league announced Wednesday. GSU tied Coastal Carolina for the highest number of student-athletes honored.

Sophomore Kyle Clinton led the team in recognitions, earning Defensive Player of the Year and being named First Team All-Sun Belt. The Southampton, England native posted three goals this season and helped lead the team to seven shutouts.

Seniors Rashid Alarape and Nick Hague, as well as junior Hannes Burmeister, were also named First Team All-Sun Belt. Alarape and Burmeister led the team in goals, scoring 17 of GSU’s 33.

The Panthers had three student-athletes named Second Team All-Sun Belt, with Liam Fitzsimmons, Max Hemmings, and Yannic Horn being tabbed to the list. Fitzsimmons and Horn were among the defensive leaders of the team, allowing just 18 goals this season.

The team will open Sun Belt Tournament play Friday, facing either No. 3 Georgia Southern or No. 6 Appalachian State at 4 p.m. Live stats will be available at and the match will be live streamed on ESPN3.

Follow along with Georgia State on Twitter (@GSUMensSoccer) for the latest news and updates.

First Team All-Sun Belt

Frantzdy Pierrot (Coastal Carolina, Senior, Forward)

Rashid Alarape (Georgia State, Senior, Forward)

Hannes Burmeister (Georgia State, Junior, Forward)

Jamie O’Grady (Hartwick, Senior, Forward)

Louis Dargent (Coastal Carolina, Senior, Midfielder)

Javier Carbonell (Georgia Southern, Junior, Midfielder)

Nick Hague (Georgia State, Senior, Midfielder)

Kervin Fadel (Coastal Carolina, Junior, Defender)

Miguel Gutierrez (Coastal Carolina, Senior, Defender)

Kyle Clinton (Georgia State, Sophomore, Defender)

Braulio Linares-Ortiz (Coastal Carolina, Senior, Goalkeeper)


Second Team All-Sun Belt

Martin Melchor (Coastal Carolina, Senior, Forward)

Romario Piggott (Coastal Carolina, Junior, Forward)

Blake Wilson (Georgia Southern, Senior, Forward)

Max Hemmings (Georgia State, Junior, Midfielder)

Hamish Ritchie (Hartwick, Sophomore, Midfielder)

Johnny McBeth (Hartwick, Senior, Midfielder)

Aldair Cortes (Georgia Southern, Freshman, Defender)

Emil Laursen (Georgia Southern, Junior, Defender)

Liam Fitzsimmons (Georgia State, Junior, Defender)

Yannic Horn (Georgia State, Senior, Goalkeeper)

Lenny Wilson (Hartwick, Junior, Goalkeeper)


Player of the Year

Frantzdy Pierrot (Coastal Carolina, Senior, Forward)

Offensive Player of the Year

Jamie O’Grady (Hartwick, Senior, Forward)

Defensive Player of the Year

Kyle Clinton (Georgia State, Sophomore, Defender)

Newcomer of the Year

Javier Carbonell (Georgia Southern, Junior, Forward)

Freshman of the Year

Aldair Cortes (Georgia Southern, Defender)

Coach of the Year Shaun Docking, Coastal Carolina