TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – The chase for qualifying spots in the NCAA Cross Country Championships field begins Friday at Apalachee Regional Park, where representatives from 36 women’s and 31 men’s teams will toe the starting line at the NCAA South Region Championships.

The top two teams for each gender, and the top four individuals not on those teams, automatically qualify for the Nov. 19 NCAA Championships in Terre Haute, Ind.

Georgia State has finished fourth or better in each event this season including a fourth-place finish at the Sun Belt Conference Championships two weeks ago. Freshman Angela Alonso has been the top performer for GSU all season long and earned a spot on the SBC All-Conference list with a top-10 finish.

In order, Mississippi, Mississippi State, Vanderbilt, Alabama and Lipscomb make up the top five in the most recent women’s South Region rankings.

The 6,000-meter women’s championship race is scheduled for 8:30 a.m. (ET), with the men’s 10,000-meter championship set for a 9:30 a.m. start. There are no admission or parking fees.

This marks the third time in five years that the South Region Championships have been contested at Apalachee Regional Park, which is located at 7550 Apalachee Parkway in Tallahassee, Fla.

Live results with splits timing and scoring will be available at: http://live.pttiming.com/xc-ptt.html?DB_OEM_ID=32900&mid=104

Host Florida State will provide a Facebook Live feed of both races at: https://www.facebook.com/FSUSeminolesCrossCountry/.



Teams (32)

Alabama State, Alabama, Belmont, Chattanooga, ETSU, FIU, Florida Atlantic, Florida State, Florida, Georgia Southern ,Georgia State , Georgia Tech, Georgia, Jacksonville, Kennesaw State, Lipscomb, Memphis, Mercer, Miami, Mississippi State, Mississippi, North Florida, Samford, South Alabama, South Florida, Southern Miss, Tennessee Tech, Tennessee-Martin, Tennessee, UAB, UCF, Vanderbilt