ATLANTA -- Georgia State Athletics celebrated the 2016-17 season with the Golden Panther Awards, the annual year-ending athletics recognition banquet organized and produced by the student-athletes themselves.

The Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, which includes representatives from each sport, selected the award categories and winners. Trey Payne of the football team and Sarah Renner of the court volleyball program served as the emcees for the event, which was held Tuesday evening in the Georgia State Student Center and attended by more than 450 student-athletes, coaches, staff, supporters and Hall of Fame guests.

The event began with recognition of the Georgia State Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2016-17 that was originally announced at the Homecoming football game last fall.

Then it was time to recognize student-athletes for academic and athletic achievement.

Susan Reeves Spirit Award for Cheer/Spirit: Jordan Brown
Susan Reeves Spirit Award for Pep Band: Libby Fleck

Women: Cross Country, 3.97 team GPA
Men: Golf, 3.81 team GPA

Women's Basketball: Haley Gerrin, 3.74
Women's Cross Country: Sammi Donovan, 4.23
Women's Golf: Yasemin Sari, 4.04
Beach Volleyball: Sarah Agnew, 4.17
Women's Soccer: Kylie Ruffule, 4.22
Softball - Brenna Skalski, 4.13
Women's Tennis: Kristin Rehse, 4.00
Women's Track and Field: Danielle Livingstone, 4.00
Court volleyball: Sarah Renner, 3.90

Baseball: Rhett Harper, 4.15
Men's Basketball: Willie Clayton, 3.20
Football: Jacob Nesmith, 3.98
Men's Golf: Max Herrmann, 4.15
Men's Soccer: Max Hemmings, 3.89
Men's Tennis: Felipe Jaworski, 4.22

Women's Basketball: Tiffany Holston
Women's Cross Country: Angela Alonso
Women's Golf: Harmanprit Kaur
Beach Volleyball: Delaney Rohan
Women's Soccer: Amanda Bruemmer
Softball: Ivie Drake
Women's Tennis: Kristin Rehse
Women's Track and Field: LaPorscha Wells
Court Volleyball: Kristina Stinson

Baseball: Ryan Blanton
Men's Basketball: Jeremy Hollowell
Football: Robert Davis
Men's Golf: Nathan Mallonee
Men's Soccer: Hannes Burmeister
Men's Tennis: Zackery Kennedy

Women's Basketball: Jada Lewis
Beach Volleyball,:LeeAnn Starr
Women's Track & Field and Cross Country: Angela Alonso
Softball: Kirsten McMonigle
Women's Tennis: Arina Taluyenko
Womens Soccer: Brooke Shank
Womens Golf: Harmanprit Kaur

Baseball: Hunter Gaddis
Football: Terry Thomas
Men's Basketball: D'Marcus Simonds
Men's Soccer: Kyle Clinton
Men's Golf: Josh Edgar
Men's Tennis: Quentin Coulaud

Overall Freshmen of the Year:
Hunter Gaddis, Baseball
Angela Alonso, Cross Country

Recognizing a male and female senior who have excelled both on and off the field or court, but have also been very influential throughout their time here at Georgia State and has been involved in other campus events or organizations as well as athletics.

Sarah Agnew, Beach Volleyball
Trent Hill, Football


Top Three Nominees:
Baseball with their 2-0 win at No. 14 ranked Ole Miss on Justin Jones' two-run double in 11th inning.
Softball with their 3-1 win at Mississippi State in 12 innings in the championship game in the Bulldog Kickoff Classic Softball tournament
Men's Soccer with their 2-1 win double overtime at Duke

Winner: Softball

Given to a student-athlete that has gone over and beyond to insure that Georgia State student-athletes understand the commitment it takes to be successful in the classroom and in their sport. This individual represents the Department of Athletics Culture of Success through Academic Achievement, Competitive Greatness, Ethical Behavior, Social Responsibility, and Community Engagement.

Sarah Agnew, Beach Volleyball

For the men's or women's team that shows its commitment to all areas: athletics, academics, community and civic service, and in general, supporting Georgia State University to make it a better place for all of us.

Winner: Softball (with 610 points)

Athletic Trainer Award: Bob Murphy
Administrator Award: Erik Paz
Coach of the Year Award: Ricardo Page, Track & Field (Throws)
Maria Urbina Award: Gary Wilson

President: Trey Payne, Football
Vice President: Kylie Ruffule, Women's Soccer
Treasurer: Jack Thompson, Baseball
Secretary: Brenna Skalski, Softball